Saturday, February 14, 2015

Are You Ready to Run for Office?

Your community needs you to serve on Special District Boards!  Learn how to put your name on the ballot for the May 19 non-partisan election at a Candidate Workshop on Saturday, February 28th from 2 to 4 p.m. This event will be held in Boy Scout Troop 3’s cabin, 1986 SW Allen Street, Corvallis (next to Mary’s River Golf Course, south of Avery Park).
Filing forms will be available at the Candidate Workshop.  Filing deadline is March 20, 2015.  If you are registered to vote in any of the following districts and are interested in serving as an elected member of their board, you can file as a candidate for the following Special District Boards:

Linn-Benton-Lincoln Education Service District
Lane Community College (south Benton County)
Linn-Benton Community College District
Alsea School District 7J
Central School District 13J (headquartered in Independence in Polk County; includes Benton County residents near the Polk County line)
Corvallis School District 509J
Greater Albany Public School District 8J (includes North Albany area in Benton County)
Harrisburg School District 7J (headquartered in Harrisburg in Linn County; includes SE Benton County residents near the Linn County line.)
Monroe School District 1J
Philomath School District 17J

Also included in this election are positions on rural fire protection district boards, Vineyard Mountain Park and Recreation District, water control districts, road districts, and the Alsea Cemetery District.  You must be registered to vote within the boundaries of these districts in order to be elected to serve.

Rural fire protection districts include:  Adair Rural Fire Protection District, Alsea Rural Fire Protection District, Blodgett-Summit Rural Fire Protection District, Corvallis Rural Fire Protection District, Hoskins-Kings Rural Fire Protection District, Monroe Rural Fire Protection District, North Albany Rural Fire Protection District, Palestine Rural Fire Protection District, and Philomath Fire Protection District.

Water control districts include Dumbeck Lane Domestic Water Supply and Junction City Water Control.

Road districts include:  Brownly-Marshall Road, Chinook Road, Country Estates Road, Marys River Estates Road; McDonald Forest Estates Road; North F Street Road; Oakwood Heights Road, Ridgewood Estates Road, Ridgewood Road, and Vineyard Mountain Road.

And it’s not too early to be thinking about running for office in the 2016 Primary election.  Come to the Candidate Workshop and learn more about how to know if you’re ready to run!

Sponsored by Benton County Republican Women. <>

No comments: